WREGIS, or the Western Renewable Energy Generation Information System, is an independent, renewable energy tracking system for the region covered by the Western Electricity Coordinating Council (WECC).

It creates Renewable Energy Certificates (RECs) for verifiable renewable generation from facilities in the western regions of North America. Each REC represents one megawatt-hour (MWh) of electricity and includes important data such as the renewable resource type, the generation location, and the emission rate.

WREGIS tracks renewable energy generation from units that range in size from small rooftop solar installations to large wind farms. It provides a reliable means of verifying compliance with state, provincial, and voluntary renewable energy requirements.

Who Does WREGIS Serve

WREGIS (Western Renewable Energy Generation Information System) serves the Western Interconnection territory of North America. The specific regions include 14 western states of the United States including:

  1. Arizona
  2. California
  3. Colorado
  4. Idaho
  5. Montana
  6. Nevada
  7. New Mexico
  8. Oregon
  9. Utah
  10. Washington
  11. Wyoming
  12. Parts of South Dakota
  13. Parts of Nebraska
  14. Parts of Texas




Please sign in to leave a comment.

Powered by Zendesk